WFM Wednesday

Cakes…..everyone loves them but no two are alike……or is that just snow flakes? Anyway, I love making cakes and cupcakes for my family but I am still a box cake mix mom. However I modify it some. I firmly believe that my modifications make the box mix taste better. Well, that and homemade frosting.

Here’s what I do:

First instead of water I use evaporated milk. Same amount. I believe this adds a richness to the cake. And bonus….more calcium!

Second, instead of vegetable oil I use butter. Real butter. Scratch recipes call for butter. BUT instead of 1/2 cup I use a whole cup. (2 sticks)

I keep the eggs the same but I also add 1T white sugar. This adds moisture to the cake.

My cakes always come out rich and moist.

Are you willing to try this on your next box mix?

Leave a Reply

